Maze displays the prototype exactly as it appears in your Figma file, allowing testers to see any changes immediately.
Significant changes to a Figma file linked to a live maze might break the defined paths within the maze. This can compromise the usability of the test and the accuracy of the results. For instance, removing a screen or an interaction that is part of a path may make it impossible for testers to complete the maze successfully.
Be cautious about making substantial modifications to files, to ensure the maze remains functional and delivers reliable results data.
Changing a Figma file after publishing the maze
For any mazes created after Wednesday, September 12, 2023, Maze displays the prototype exactly as it is in your Figma file.
Any changes in the linked Figma file will appear immediately to testers. Significant changes to the prototype may break defined paths in your maze.
Static embed (legacy)
If you're working on an older maze using the legacy static embed, you can only refresh a prototype when the maze is in a draft state.
After sending the maze live, updating the prototype requires duplicating the maze, refreshing the prototype, and publishing the newest version.
What's a breaking change?
Maze flags a breaking change when you change a prototype that is linked to a live maze, and these changes prevent testers from testing altogether because the success paths you have defined are not accessible.
- The permissions settings to a Figma file linked to a live maze changed in a way that prevents testers from accessing the file.
- A screen that is part of a defined path is removed from the Figma prototype.
- A screen that is part of a defined path is inaccessible — for instance, because of a missing interaction.
Prevent potentially breaking changes in your files
Our advice for a smooth experience:
- Create a dedicated file for testing in Maze and clearly indicate that the file is linked to a live maze.
- You can safely make small changes (e.g., fixing typos or adding hotspots) that don't disrupt interactions.
- Avoid making significant changes to files linked to a live maze. This includes deleting screens, changing interactions or interactive components, altering screen layouts, etc. Such changes may cause a large discrepancy between your file and the data available to Maze, potentially leading to issues such as broken paths or incorrect heatmaps in the results.
- If you need to make significant changes, we highly recommend duplicating the maze and publishing it with the new prototype version.
What happens if Maze detects a change in the Figma file?
If a potentially breaking change is detected, Maze will automatically stop collecting new results.
This is to avoid a poor tester experience that prevents them from accurately testing, and to reduce the risk of potentially wasting hired tester credits on a test that doesn’t capture the data you had intended to collect.
Your testers won't be able to access the live maze, with the following error appearing when they launch the maze:
This maze can’t be explored right now We’ve let the maze creator know and it should be fixed soon. Refresh this page and try again in a few minutes
The person who has linked the Figma prototype will receive an email notification warning about the changes that have been detected:
If the file permissions were changed to private
We paused collecting responses for your maze because your prototype permissions changed
If there was a change in the prototype
We paused collecting responses for your maze because there was a change in the prototype
Restart testing after reverting a breaking change
To restart testing:
- If testing stopped because of a change in file permissions, changing them back to Anyone with the link can view will automatically restart testing.
- If testing stopped due to prototype changes, undo the changes in Figma. Once that is done, you can start recording new results again via the maze settings.
If you’ve created a named version of the file before sending the maze live, you can easily revert to that specific version.
If you can't bring the prototype back to its original state, we recommend duplicating the maze and refreshing the prototype.
Still need help?
If you have any questions or concerns, please let our Support team know — we'll be happy to help!